Rizal, Laguna Sports Tourism Adventure 2011

Sports-Tourism Priority Project of  Vice-Mayor Ferdie Sumague FY2010-2013

A first of its kind Sports – Tourism –  Adventure (STA) event in Rizal, Laguna formulated by Vice Mayor Ferdie Sumague in an aggressive attempt in attracting local and foreign participants to be featured by BatangRizal Production Team thru Laguna’s Cable-TV providers towards promoting our municipality.

Tale of the Event

Introducing the Rizal, Laguna Sports Tourism Adventure 2011. A first of its kind activity in Rizal, Laguna combining Sports ( Triathlon: Running, Cycling and Hiking/Trekking ) and Tourism. An aggressive attempt to attract local, provincial and tourist participants that will kick-off the first leg of the tournament  (1) Running at the  “PLAZA”  (in heart of the municipality) going to Brgy. Pook-Nagcarlan boundary turning towards Brgy. Antipolo-San Pablo boundary and then turning to Opulencia Street going to Mayton Bridge. Shifting from running to (2) Cycling towards the direction of Tala Malasena till the  last part of the concreted road then shifting to (3) Trekking towards the finish line at the tip of   TAYAK HILL   in an attempt to feature to the participants the fresh, cool smoothing air and the Tourism  fantastic sceenery overlooking the municipality of Rizal, Laguna and nearby City of San Pablo and other nearby municipalities. The historic  TAYAK  HILL that once been the headquarter of a Guerilla Command in Laguna during WWII will serve as the Finish Line to the 2011 Rizal, Laguna Sports Tourism Adventure.


Conceptualizing the Finish Line at the tip of Tayak Hill

New Municipal Health Building

Groundbreaking Ceremony of a Two (2) Storey Municipal Health Building in the Municipality of Rizal, Laguna

September 1, 2009 Ground Breaking Ceremony for the  construction of a Two (2) Storey Municipal Health Center Building  that will rise at the back of the present Municipal Health Office beside the Municipal Public Market Bgry. Pauli II Rizal, Laguna . A project that will sure benifit its citizenry decause it is the only public Health Facility  serving the whole municipality. Funded by the Department of Health thru the initiative of the Local Goverment Unit Headed by the Local Chief Executive Hon. Rolen I. Urriquia and the Sangguniang Bayan, Municipal Health Officer Dr. Sam Joseph Cerillo and Staff. Assisted by Congresswoman Evita “IVY” Arago Representative Third (3rd) District of Laguna and her Excellency Gloria Macapagal Arroyo  President of the Republic of the Philippines. Witnessed by other Bgry. Officials, BNS, BHW,  Samahang Kababaihan, representative from different schools, NGO’S, other Private and Civic Organizations.  Project awarded to R.V. Laborte Construction.

Ground Breaking led by the Municipal Mayor Rolen I. Urriquia with other members of the Sangguniang Bayan & Brgy. Chairman

Gr ound Breaking led by the Municipal Mayor Rolen I. Urriquia with other members of the Sangguniang Bayan & Brgy. Chairman

Ground Breaking Ceremony

Ground Breaking Ceremony witnessed by other sectors of the community

Ground Breaking Ceremony

Construction site: beside Rizal Public Market, at the back of the present Municipal Health Center

Celebrating 111 Years of Philippine Independence

Philippine Declaration of Independence

The Philippine Declaration of Independence occurred on June 12, 1898 in Cavite el Viejo (now Kawit), Cavite, Philippines. With the public reading of the Act of the Declaration of Independence, Filipino revolutionary forces under General Emilio Aguinaldo proclaimed the sovereignty and independence of the Philippine Islands from the colonial rule of Spain, which had been recently defeated at the Battle of Manila Bay during the Spanish-American War.

The declaration, however, was not recognized by the United States or Spain. The Spanish government later ceded the Philippines to the United States in the 1898 Treaty of Paris that ended the Spanish-American War.

The United States recognized Philippine independence on July 4, 1946 in the Treaty of Manila. July 4 was observed in the Philippines as Independence Day until August 4, 1964 when, upon the advice of historians and the urging of nationalists, President Diosdado Macapagal signed into law Republic Act No. 4166 designating June 12 as the country’s Independence Day. June 12 had previously been observed as Flag Day.

The Proclamation Day

The event was led by Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo in his mansion on June 12, 1898. The flag of the Philippines, which was made in Hong Kong by Marcela Agoncillo, Lorenza Agoncillo and Delfina Herbosa de Natividad was first flown in that event. It is also where the Philippine National Anthem, composed by Julian Felipe, was first played by the San Francisco de Malabon band. The song was played under the name Marcha Filipina Magdalo, later renamed as Marcha Nacional Filipina.

The Official Flag of the Republic of the Philippines.The Philippines celebrated its Independence Day every July 4, the date in 1946 that the United States granted independence to the nation, until 1962, when President Diosdado Macapagal signed the Presidential Proclamation No. 28, changing the official celebration to June 12, the date in 1898 that Emilio Aguinaldo declared the nation’s independence from Spain

90th Foundation Day (a rainy day affair)

Parade and Floral Offering

BubbleShare: Share photosFind great Clip Art Images.